Search This Website

Monday, 25 July 2022

List of all the Prime Ministers of the India (1947-2022)

List of all the  Prime Ministers of the  India (1947-2022)

Narendra Modi is the current and 14th Prime Minister of the India who are assumed a office on 26 May 2014. Jawaharlal Nehru is the first and the longest-serving Prime Minister of the  India while Indira Gandhi is the first and only female Prime Minister of the  India. Check the list of all the  Prime Ministers of the  India.

List of all the Prime Ministers of the  India: Narendra Modi is the current and 14th Prime Minister of the  India. He would become in the fourth Indian Prime Minister to the serve two consecutive terms on the post and would be the first non-Congress Prime Minister of the India who would complete two consecutive in a  terms. In this article, we have a mentioned in the list of all the Prime Ministers of the  India from 1947 to 2022. 


List of the  Movies to the Learn English: Watch These English Movies To Learn The Language Quickly!

Yogi Adityanath Cabinet 2.0: Check List of the  Ministers, Ministers of the State (Independent Charge), and Ministers of the State

List of all the Prime Ministers of the India from 1947-2021




Term of office



Jawahar Lal Nehru


15 August 1947 to 27 May 1964

16 years, 286 days

The first prime minister of the India and the longest-serving PM of the India, the first to die in a office.


Gulzarilal Nanda (Acting)


27 May 1964 to 9 June 1964,

13 days

First acting PM of India


Lal Bahadur Shastri


9 June 1964 to 11 January 1966

1 year, 216 days

He has given in the slogan of 'Jai Jaw-an Jai Kisan' during in the Indio-Park war of the  1965


Gulzari Lal Nanda  (Acting)


11 January 1966 to 24 January 1966

13 days



Indira Gandhi


24 January 1966 to 24 March 1977

11 years, 59 days

First female Prime Minister of India


Morarji Desai


24 March 1977 to  28 July 1979 

2 year, 126 days

Oldest to become PM (81 years old) and first to the resign from office


Char an Singh


28 July 1979 to 14 January 1980

170 days

Only a PM who did not face in the Parliament


Indira Gandhi


14 January 1980 to 31 October 1984

4 years, 291 days

The first lady who are served as a PM for in the second term


Rajiv Gandhi


31 October 1984 to 2 December 1989

5 years, 32 days

Youngest to become PM (40 years old)


V. P. Singh


2 December 1989 to 10 November 1990

343 days

First PM to step down after a vote of no confidence


Chandra Shekhar


10 November 1990 to 21 June 1991

223 days

He belongs to  Samajwadi Jana-ta Party


P. V. Narasimha Rao


21 June 1991 to 16 May 1996

4 years, 330 days

First PM from south India


Atal Bihari Vajpayee

(1924- 2018)

16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996

16 days

PM for shortest tenure


H. D. Deve Gowda

(born 1933)

1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997

324 days

He belongs to  Janata Dal


Ind-er Kumar Gujral


21 April 1997 to 19 March 1998 

332 days



Atal Bihari Vajpayee


19 March 1998 to 22 May 2004 

6 years, 64 days

 The first non-congress PM who are completed to a full term as a PM


Manmohan Singh

(born 1932)

22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014   

10 years, 4 days

 First Sikh PM


Narendra Modi

(born 1950)

26 May 2014 - Present

4th Prime Minister of  the India who are served two consecutive in a  tenures

IQ Test: Can You Spot 5 Differences Between These are Pictures Within A Minute?

What You See in a First 6 Seconds Reveals If You Can Stay In a Long-Distance Relationships

Article 75 of the Indian Constitution envisages that there will be a Prime Minister who shall be a appointed by the President of the  India. Prime Minister is the leader of the Cabinet in a Ministers. The main executive powers of the government are vested in the Prime Minister while in the President is the nominal head of the State. Article 78 of the Indian Constitution specifies in the duties of the Prime Minister of  the India. He acts as a link between the President and Cabinet while a discharging his duties.

Prime Minister of the  India determines in the dates of its meetings and programmer for the Parliament in a  session. He also a decides when the House has to be a prorogued or a dissolved. As a chief spokesman, he makes in the announcement of the  principal government policies and answers questions.

Prime Minister (PM) are recommends President regarding in the appointment of many officers, he allocates and the  reshuffles various portfolios among Ministers, he presides over in the meeting of the Council of the Ministers and influences in their decisions. The Prime Minister can ask a any member to the resign or a recommend in the President to the remove a any Minister.

No comments:

Post a Comment